Symphonia Academica Quartet

Symphonia Academica Quartet

St James' Church, Castle Bytham, NG33 4SB Peter Bussereau, Marcus Broome violins Ania Ullmann viola Julia Graham cello Haydn Quartet in B flat op 76 no 4 (‘Sunrise’) Beethoven Quartet in C minor op 18 no 4 Schubert Quartet in A minor (‘Rosamunde’) The four principals of Symphonia Academica perform three great classical works written within the span of 24 years. Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ quartet takes its name from the opening rising figure, its sunny mood appearing throughout the piece. In one of his first quartets, Beethoven was acutely aware of the legacy of Haydn. Schubert quotes from his incidental music to Rosamunde, giving the quartet its name. The most striking feature when entering St James’ is the magnificent brass chandelier, dated 1810. Remains of the church’s Norman origins can be seen in the nave arches and are a reminder of the long-vanished Norman castle and the strategic importance of the village. In the long chancel is a highly-decorated recess formerly used as an Easter Sepulchre and the rough ladder in a corner of the nave was made from a 17th century maypole.

Book Tickets

£14.00/ £12.00 concessions & Artscene Members


We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used.

Accept & Continue